The Horror

The following is true. It happened to me last night.

I was at home after work. It had been cloudy most of the day with occasional rain showers. I had made a list of tasks I needed to do as I kept putting them off: read my school text and answer review questions, start studying for my certifications, start burning the huge pile of LP’s to CD…stuff like that.

It was almost 6 PM and the kids wanted to be fed. I try and feed them as close to 6:30 as I can so decided to get some dinner cooking for me and they would eat when I did. I go into the garage to get some fish out of the freezer. When I lift up the lid I see (and hear) water coming from inside the lid and dripping down the back of th freezer. I kind of shrug this off and grab the box of Mrs. Paul’s fillets. Something’s not right here. The box is too warm. My body rushes with adrenaline as I realize the freezer is off! I look down at the front corner and little orange indicator lights is off! The freezer has broken down!, I think. I rip open the box and touch the food…yep. There’s no hope of trying to get this stuff crammed into our inside freezer. I then dug to the bottom of the freezer for the two huge tubs of cranberry sauce my step dad made and had us store because they didn’t have extra space. These things, when frozen, are lethal weapons of solid fruit ice. I grab one and feel it. It’s barely cool. If anything gaged the coldness in the freezer, it was those tubs.

Another thought crosses my mind: maybe it’s a blown break and not the freezer. I check the breakers and none are showing they blew. I even turn them off and on just to make sure. Still no orange light or soft compressor hum. I grab a long extension cord and plug the freezer into one end and run the other end into the house to the nearest outlet. The freezer comes on…but too late to save the food. I plug it back into the dead outlet and go searching for other reasons for this bad plug. I reset all the GFI switches in the house and nothing. The outlet on the opposite side of the garage and the washer/dryer are working. So I chalk it up to a lightning strike. I’m just kicking myself for not noticing it sooner.

I packed all the food into garbage bags (Oh, the pain as I put in those 5 DiGiorno pizzas I bought on sale!), drove out to B’s place, where there are construction dumpsters on all the new home sites, and tossed the bags in. There was about $150 to $200 worth of food. I then visited with B. and C. for a bit to calm down, and then drove home. When hubby called he had heard the voice mail I left him as he got off his flight back. He then told me there was another GFI switch in the garage, quite well hidden. THAT turned the outlet back on. So I mopped out the water that had pooled in the bottom and told Mark to pick up a pizza on the way home.

So it’s time to start restocking the freezer this weekend.

I hope they don’t find that dead body…and now I need to find another one to take it’s place.

[For my clueless readers, I’m joking about that last part]

6 responses to this post.

  1. Awww, that just sucks! Any idea what caused the GFI to trip?

  2. Holy Crap! I’d much rather find a body instead of tossing $200 worth of food.

  3. Well, a good partial test for hurricane season, anyway.

  4. For my clueless readers, I’m joking about that last part

    What? You don’t want to find a dead body to take its place?

  5. i hate having to throw out food; so I empathize

  6. I have a deep chest freezer and whenever it’s hurricane season I worry about losing everything in it. That reminds me, I have to take some stuff out of the chest freezer and put it in the house freezer…..thanks for the reminder. 😀

Comments are closed.

