Of Orphans, Receptions, Beggars, Divas, Knights, and Wizards

Work was another whirlwind day. Class was uneventful, so it was pleasant. Rain moved in while I was in class and was glad I had my umbrella as I walked back to the car. I called Mark and found out he had gotten together with some of the “girls” we met on the cruise. I met them at the Greens & Grill by the snobby mall. We had an awesome time just shootin’ the shiz-nit. The really good part is we nailed down the night we wanted for this season’s Broadway Across America series at the Bob Carr. Yeah, the theater is far from first class…but it’s the only place close that has Broadway touring shows. God, Orlando is so starved for culture….we got to get it where we can.

Well, let me go through each show and tell you what comes to mind for each one.

Annie

OK, this will probably be the clunker in the series, but I still want to see it. I am so hoping they have Joan Collins as Ms. Hanigan!

The Wedding Singer

I’ve never seen this movie, and the show did not run for too long on Broadway, but I’ve heard several numbers on XM’s showtunes channel and they were cool. The “Come Out of the Dumpster” song got a chuckle out of me.

My Fair Lady

I know I blogged about this ages ago, and I go off on a rant often…but I hate the ending to this musical! The music is wonderful, and I hope there’s some great star playing Professor Higgins or Eliza, but the ending will grate on me. The ending to the original play, Pygmallion, is just right. Having Eliza go back to Professor Higgins is just so…obnoxious! He treated her like sh*t and she comes back because Lerner and Loewe needed a happy musical ending? I think not.

The Drowsy Chaperone

This is one show I can’t wait to see (actually, the final three are the ones that got us to buy season tickets). I only wish it had been with the original cast. The interesting thing about this show is the storyline could not be told on the CD soundtrack. I listened to a Downstage Center podcast interviewing the man who created the show (he’s also in it…or was), and he said they tried 6 different times to put this show down on a CD so people could understand and enjoy it. I am intrigued and can’t wait to see it for myself. The hubby’s niece saw it in New York and raved about it. My mom saw it and didn’t like it – but my mom seems to hate everything, pretty much (It’s not a grouch factor but more of a clueless factor – she just doesn’t get a lot of stuff she sees).

Spamalot

The second show in the “Triple Crown”. I love Monty Python, and I’ve heard this soundtrack. Some funny, funny stuff. I’m curious if M. will like it because he’s never watched Monty Python.

Wicked

Yes…If I had to say which show really sealed our decision to buy tickets, it was this one. I’ve wanted to see it since I saw Idina Menzell sing Defying Gravity on the Tony’s – it sent shivers down my spine and brought tears to my eyes. I didn’t get to see her or Kristen Chenowith on Broadway perform it, but that’s OK. I will finally be able to say I saw the show. And the info says the show is 2 hours and 45 minutes! I’m sure I won’t look at my watch once during that time, I’ll be so enthralled. I really want to see how they stage it all. I’ve read the script (yes, I know all the spoilers in the show) but I want to see how certain effects are done that are described. But then there’s the phenomenal score, too. And I’ll bet you a dollar there will be people attending dressed up like Elphaba and Galinda. No, not me, you bitches. LOL!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Have you read the Wicked novel yet? It wasn’t the smoothest read, but I really enjoyed the subversive tone. Yeah, I think we’ll be getting tickets for a few of those as well (though not dressing up).

  2. Wow….those are some great looking shows. Have a great time, you lucky duck. 😉

  3. Drowsy Chaperone is AMAZING! If you appreciate the absurdity of 20’s musicals, you will “get” this show. It’s written beautifully too.

    I saw it in NY and cannot wait for the tour.

Comments are closed.

